Annals of American History
Annals of American History illuminate U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents—the original words of history-makers.
New York Times articles from 1850s - 2000s.
CQ Historic Documents (1972-present)
IWitness is an online application that gives educators and students access to search, watch, and learn from more than 1,000 video testimonies of Holocaust survivors and other witnesses.
Making of America
(Antebellum period through Reconstruction)
Vincent Voice Library
How to be a Retronaut
(use Ms. Roberts' email and the password: artstor)
A mix of free and premium documents
Experieincing WW! (Veterans History Project)
Veterans History Project
Welcome to Chronicling America, enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
FBI: The Vault
Nelson Mandela Digital Archive
The Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory delivers the core-work of the Nelson Mandela Foundation. The Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation established in 1999 to support its Founder’s ongoing engagement in worthy causes on his retirement as President of South Africa. The Foundation is registered as a trust, with its board of trustees comprising prominent South Africans selected by the Founder.
About Primary Sources
From the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) of the American Library Association:
What are Primary Sources?
More about primary sources:
- How to Read a Primary Source (Bowdoin)
- Milestone Documents: Teaching with Primary Sources
- NARA 100 Milestone Documents
- Teaching with Primary Sources (Library of Congress)
- Tools for Analyzing Primary Sources (Library of Congress)
- Using Primary Sources on the Web
- Why Study History Through Primary Sources? (Fordham)
- Historical Thinking Matters
- Benchmarks for Historical Thinking
- Smithsonian Source (lessons, documents, more)
- Smithsonian Education
- American Memory Timeline for Teachers
- Docs Teach (NARA)
- Student as Historian (Peter Pappas)
- U. Washington History United States
- National Security Archive
Remember, when searching for primary sources the language of our time may not serve you well. For instance, documents written during World War I would have referred to the conflict as "The Great War." The term "African American" is relatively modern in usage.
Primary sources are often biased. As you analyze them, try to understand the lens through with you view them.
Google Custom Search
Some Major Portals
Some sources for Primary Sources and Learning Strategies:
Artifact and Analysis (Smithsonian)
King Center Archive (MLK & the Civil Rights Movement)
Calisphere: World of Primary Sources and More (U. California)
Picturing America (art galleries and resources)
Our Documents (primary sources and teaching resources)
Links from LibGuides @Madison College
AmericanMemory Library of Congress
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy A collection of documents in history and law from ancient civilizations to the present.
Cambridge U. Virtual Classroom: sample exercises and lectures, and information
Chronicling America - The Library of Congress American newspapers 1860-1922.
Civil War in America from The Illustrated London News Digital archive of the Illustrated London News during the Civil War years.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture digitized primary materials significant to the decorative arts and material culture of early America including electronic texts and facsimiles, image databases, and web resources.
Documenting the American South Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. As of March 1, 2004, DAS includes 1,266 books and manuscripts.
Early American Paintings Worcester Art Museum
Founders' Constitution An online anthology of documents from the 17th century through the 1830's related to constitutional history. From the University of Chicago and the Liberty Fund.
Google Book Search Now includes magazines. If you do an advanced search, you can limit your search by date and type of content. Not printable, but you can read the issues on screen.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of world art
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 Harvard Open Collections Program: Digital collection of selected historical materials documenting voluntary immigration to the US
Internet History Sourcebooks Project Full text historical documents and links for ancient, medieval, and modern history. Paul Halsall/Fordham University.
LIFE photo archive Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, hosted by Google, stretching from the 1750s to today.
Making of America Digital library of primary resources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction including sociology as well as education, psychology, American history, religion, science and technology.
Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery from New York Historical Society.
Mike Wallace Interview In the early 1960’s, broadcast journalist Mike Wallace donated 65 recorded interviews made in 1957-58 from his show The Mike Wallace Interview to the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. The bulk of these were 16mm kinescope film recordings.
NYPL Digital Gallery New York Public Library Digitized Collections
Office of the Historian U.S.Department of State. Access to official historical documentary records of U.S. foreign policy.
Picturing America Home Page National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) "brings masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide."
Picturing the thirties The Depression, The New Deal, The Country, Industry, Labor, The City, Leisure, and American People." Features artwork, photos, newsreels, and other material about 1930s history.
Prelinger Archives "Ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present.
Smithsonian Institution Smithsonian Instrutions website with exhibitions, images, and information
The March On Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project Primary source digital collection from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society - 1960s civil rights history
Women Working - , 1800–1930 Harvard Open Collections Program; approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images focused on the role of women in the U.S. economy.
Searching for Video
Historic American Newspapers
Gilder Lehrman History by Era
World Book Advanced includes Primary Source links.
Documenting the American South
Life Photo Archive
Repositories of Primary Sources
Free Library of Philadelphia Digital Collections
Internet History Sourcebooks
EyeWitness: History Through the Eyes of Those who Lived it (Eyewitness accounts organized by date starting with Ancient Greece.)
National Library of Scotland (digital archives)