Documentation Videos
Images, Fonts, Avatars
Copyright Friendly/Creative Commons MediaCopyright Infographic (Heartland)
Search EnginesGoogle Search ToolsAcademic SearchReal-Time Search
Language Arts Non-negotiables
This is the "Academic Search" page of the "Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tools, tutorials, and all sorts of resources to help you successfully navigate the research process!
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2015 URL: http://sdst.libguides.com/content.php?pid=184760 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Academic Search Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

 

DOAJ

Used to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.

 

Scirus

This website is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

 

Science Direct

SciVerse ScienceDirect scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters.

 

iSEEK

Designed for teachers, students and scholars, this search engine only returns relevant and reliable results.

 

Archives Hub

Using this site you’ll get access to the archives of major UK universities and colleges.

 

HighBeam Research

Ideal for students and professionals, HighBeam is the premier online research tool for business and academic use. Here, you can search more than 80 million articles from the archives of over 6,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, and other publications.

 

NASA historical archive

 

Microsoft Academic Search

 

CiteSeerx

This is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

 

Intute

Intute is a free online service that helps you to find web resources for your studies and research.

 

Ready 'Net Go

This contains an index of archival indexes. From here we refer you to the major indexes, lists, and databases of archival resources. From them you can link to almost every archival resource in the metaverse.

 

OAlster (OCLC)

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

 

PubMed (PMC)

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

 

Academic Info

Search or browse through this site for listings of the best academic websites out there.

 

refseek

This academic search engine will help you find useful reference material from predominately .edu, .org and .gov sites.

 

Academic Index

Find information that can set the stage for your future research using this helpful search tool.

 

Archival Research Catalog

Browse through the holdings of the US National Archives or use their helpful search tool to find just what you’re looking for.

 

Bioline

Bioline International is a pioneer in the provision of open access to peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries. These journals contain timely research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food and nutritional security and biodiversity that would not otherwise be readily available to researchers in the developed world, or even within the country of publication. Bioline is not a publisher, but an aggregator that provides a free platform for journals who wish to participate in the global open access movement.

Librarian

Profile Image
Jenny Roberts
Contact Info
jenny_roberts@sdst.org
Send Email
 

INFOMINE

This is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.

 

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

 

WolframAlpha

Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

 

VirtualLRC

The Virtual Learning Resources Center is a good place to start looking for material that can help you in your studies.

 

Digital Library of Commons

This site organizes all the best free information on the web including articles, books, images and even dissertations in one easily searchable place.

 

Google Books

 

SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers free access to search, tables of content, abstracts, and alerting services. Most likely you have full-text access to the published content in your area of interest via your institution having a subscription or being a member of a consortium. SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,630 fully peer-reviewed journals and 45,121 books online.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip