Digital Storytelling ExamplesSpringfield Digital Storytelling
Infographics ExamplesStudent examplesChild SoldiersCrisis in DarfurSomali PiratesCivil War in CongoIvorian Civil WarAIDS in South AfricaConflict DiamondsEast African Hunger CrisisIvory TradeProjects 2012/13
This is the "Reading 2.0?" page of the "New Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Tools   Tags: apps, learning tools, web 2.0  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2016 URL: http://sdst.libguides.com/newtools Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reading 2.0? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Story Snoops

The StorySnoops are four moms from the San Francisco Bay Area. We live within a mile or so of each other and share the same town, schools, and circles of friends. We've followed similar, but not identical, paths--college, careers, and then children. Between us we have nine of them, ranging from first grade through high school.

Passionate readers ourselves, we each strive to foster a life-long love of reading in our children, who run the gamut from the truly voracious to the most reluctant of readers. Our children have all read things that we were perhaps not ready for them to read, and have found ourselves having conversations that we were not quite prepared for. After a meeting of the minds and a pooling of talent, StorySnoops was founded to prepare other parents for those conversations and to help them seek out books that may reflect the experiences, interests, strengths or weaknesses of their own children.

StorySnoops is the ultimate parent-to-parent book tool--always straightforward and informative. We hope you use it as a practical resource to find the best fiction for your child. We know we do!

 

BookLeads

 

Author Blogs/Vlogs

 

eBookPortals

 

Holy Bodacious Barcodes, Batman (Jennifer LaGarde)

 

Database of AwardWinning Children's Literature (Lisa R. Bartle)

The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves.

DAWCL has over 8,400 records from 101 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland). Click the link Explanation of Awards above to see a list of awards, their countries, and a brief explanation. Each book is indexed to some degree so users can find it using the form search or the keyword search. As I read a book, I index it more fully. Naturally, DAWCL is always a work in progress, so results will change with the addition of new awards, award-winners, and my reading/indexing habits. See the Developments Log for more detail.

 

Booktalks Quick and Simple (Nancy Keane)

Over 5000 ready-to-use booktalks for children in Grades K-12.

 

YA Book Series & Sequels (Bettendorf Public Library)

Hello and welcome to Bettendorf Public Library's Young Adult Books In Series and Sequels Wiki!

To find what the author or series you are looking for just click on the letters below to browse alphabetical lists of authors or series names. Or use the search boxes at right to find authors, series names or individual book titles. Dates following titles are date of publication as near as we can determine.

 

Reading Suggestion Engines/Tools

Sometimes readers’ advisory doesn’t come easy.  Sometimes we need some quick help recommending titles.  A number of my students, most notably my Book Club kids, belong to book networking sites like GoodReads, LibraryThing, and Shelfari. But not everyone really wants to join and build a reading network based on tagging and rating and reviewing.

I’ve been gathering and pointing to some speedier book recommendation tools that don’t require a membership commitment beyond a basic registration, a variety of sites that lead readers to quick book hook-ups based on recent reads, favorite authors, genres and other traits.

BookSeer presents readers with a simple form asking what you just finished reading. It pulls recommendations from sites like Amazon and LibraryThing.  Results are delivered with a sharable link and the reminder that you can seek additional help at a local bookshop or library.

Scholastic’s Teacher Book Wizard is designed to help teachers create and customize book lists.  It searches the publisher’s significant archive for young readers and allows searching by interest and grade, reading level, book type, topic/subject, genre/theme, reading motivation program, and language.

JacketFlap boasts that it contains a browsable and searchable list of pretty much every children’s book and young adult book ever published.  The Advanced Search filters by author, title, publisher, illustrator, reading level, subject, and publication date.

The folks at Yournextread.com were concerned that

while most online book stores proudly offer in excess of 2 million books, browsing and searching for a book without a title or author in mind is very difficult. In fact trying to find new authors is quite a difficult task. We started YourNextRead to make discovering, buying and enjoying a book as simple as finding your next film or band.

The site links to Amazon and Goodreads.  Search by author, title, genre and other fields.  Registering for an account allows users to visualize and connect favorite titles and to create and share recommendations with a web-like MyMap.

Enter a title, author, or ISBN number of a book you loved in the What Should I Read Next search box, and the search engine will analyze our database of real readers’ favorite books (more than 75,000 different titles so far, and more than a million reader recommendations) to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.

Free registration allows you to build and save a favorites list.

An old favorite, Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature has indexed more than 8,400 children’s titles, across 101 awards since 1997.  A project of librarian Linda Bartel, its purpose is to create a tailored reading list of quality children’s literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. Users can search by books by selected age of reader, format, setting, historical period, setting, language, format, genre, multicultural connections, gender, author, title, publication year, or specific award.

WhichBook.net features a couple of unique search tools, offering searchers

an enjoyable and intuitive way to find books to match their mood. Instead of starting from the overwhelming choice of books available, whichbook starts from the reader and enables each individual to build the elements of that elusive ‘good read’ we are all looking for but don’t quite know how to define.

A scale interface allows users to determine how happy, funny, optomistic, short, or sexy you’d like your next read to be. Or you may choose to use the character, plot, setting interface. The database claims to include every book published in English since 1995, including large print and audio choices.  Clicking on borrow, links users to public libraries in the UK.

Bettendorf Public Library’s Young Adult Books In Series and Sequels Wiki is a handy tools for helping series fans figure out what to read next and is also just fun to search or to browse using alphabetical lists of authors or series names .

TasteKid is a discovery engine for books, authors, movies, shows, and music.

Gnooks is a self-adapting community system based on the gnod engine. Discover new writers you will like, travel the map. of literature and discuss your favorite books and authors.

Search using the traditional fill-in-your-favorite-authors boxes or generate a super-cool interactive literature map of authors.

 

Reading Digitally Infographic

Click Reading Digitally Infographic for a pdf of the infographic.

 

Your Next Read

The team behind YourNextRead love to read but do not always have lots of time to search for their next book. The enormous volume and choice of books you can find both online and on the high street these days is both fantastic and daunting. Online reviews and social book websites could be useful and sometimes pointed us towards other interesting books, but in the end we would often ask friends and family for book recommendations.

Then we went travelling and found a lot of strange and interesting books which had never been on our radar before, and we loved most of them (although certainly not all of them!). We asked ourselves why we had never come across these books before? After a bit of digging we found that, while most online book stores proudly offer in excess of 2 million books, browsing and searching for a book without a title or author in mind is very difficult. In fact trying to find new authors is quite a difficult task. We started YourNextRead to make discovering, buying and enjoying a book as simple as finding your next film or band.

 

International Children's Digital Library

The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. The Foundation pursues its vision by building a digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world and supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children.

 

Jim Trelease on Reading

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip