African ConflictsPeace Corps Project
WWW Virtual Library: Africa Search & News
Peace Conference
Infographics Examples
This is the "Issues!" page of the "Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Events  

A focus on national news
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2015 URL: http://sdst.libguides.com/currentevents Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Issues! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Flocabulary: Week in Rap

 

Gale Databases

 

 

 

Social Issues Portals

ProCon.org

Demotix (citizen journalism)

Multnomah County Library Homework Center Social Issues

Public Agenda Online Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization.

AllSides.com: Left, right, center--you decide

Debatabase wiki encyclopedia of pro and con arguments and quotations in important public debates from around the world. Be careful to evaluate the arguments you read for credibility!

DebateGraph Mindmapping issues: Click on the bubbles to learn more about us – and log-in to create free public and private maps on any topic.

Yahoo: Society and Culture

Yahoo: Issues and Causes

Yahoo: Social Science

Yahoo: News Topics

Gallop Organization and Social Issues and Policy Articles and statistics based on polling data.

O'Keefe Library Hot Paper Topics

Human Rights Watch

Maps in the News

National Center for Policy Analysis: Idea Place

National Issues Forum: Issue Books

OneWorld

Open Directory: Issues

Opinions/Editorials:Headlinespot

Political Resources on the Net

Polling Report

Social Issues Resource Center

Women's Human Rights Resources

10 X 10 (100 words and pictures that define the time)

Headline Spot

     

    Infopedia Issues

     

    Allsides

     

    Multinomah County Public Library Social Issues page

     

    Debatepedia

     

    President Obama's Weekly Address

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    CQ Researcher Feed

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Voteocracy

    Votetocracy is a place where every citizen can see every bill currently in congress, vote on those bills and send those votes to their representatives. The site was created by three regular citizens that felt it was time to get engaged with American politics. During our efforts to become more educated about our government we discovered that it was not all that easy. We found plenty of information. But it is written in difficult to understand political speak. We also found that it was not particularly easy to act on this information. When we found bills on government websites we had no measurable way to act on it. Sure, you could write a letter or contact our representatives, but had no real way of knowing that it would actually accomplish anything. These things felt like barriers. It was then that we decided that there had to be a better way and Votetocracy is the the result of our efforts.

    The site has the tools necessary for any citizen to find out what congress is working on. More importantly however is the ability to act on that information. We have created the site so that citizens can vote on the same bills as congress, send their vote to their representatives with the click of the button.

    We feel there are three major areas that we can help citizens.

    1. Access to information
    2. Education about that information
    3. And to provide the ability to act on that information and measure the results
      


     

    Just the issues (databases)

     

     

     cqel.gif

     

    Newsela

    Adjust news to reading and grade level.

     

    FactsonFile

     

    JSTOR

     

    Contemporary News Sources

    timelogo.gif

    nytlogo153x23.gif

     


    life.gif

    (Archival)

    header_top.jpg

     

     

    C-SPAN Deliberations

    Encyclopedia

     

     worldbook.gif

    grolier.gif

        
       

      Nationmaster (global statistics)

       

      FullTextReportsFeed

      Loading Loading...
      blank padding
        


       

      AP Images

       

      Public Agenda: Resources for Public Engagers

       

      ProCon.org

       

      Biography in Context

       

      TV News Search & Borrow

       

      Youthink|Issues

       

      GlobalIssues.org

      CultureGrams

       

      Current History Magazine

       

      ProQuest Historic Newspapers

       

      ProQuest Online

      ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry: Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals. Search more than 1200 business periodicals with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more. 

      AP Science: Advanced Scientific and Medical Periodicals

      Career and Technical Education: Search vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum

      ProQuest Education Journals: Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields

       

      Find the Data


      Sort through a growing number of databases that are fully sortable, filterable and
      comparable.

       

      History Behind the Headlines

        


      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip